Gallagher holes out on the 12th

New member Robert Gallagher hasn’t been in Yamba for long but he is making himself known, firstly winning the Keith Flett Memorial Match Play championship and now having holing on the 12th hole on Thursday’s single Stableford competition.

The other great players for the day were , Tim Stokes who pared the front 9 to finish with 42pts giving him the win in A grade from Mitch Brash 37pts on a count back from John Hogan from Burleigh Heads golf club.

Andrew Bennett was the B grade winner with 40pts from Max Sweetman 39 and Rob Gallagher was 3rd with 38pts on a c/b.

In C grade Stephen Cassidy was the winner with 37pts from Rodger Gathercole 34 and John McNamara was 3rd with 33pts on a c/b.

Nearest to the Pins were;  On the SeaFire Steak and Seafood 3rd Ray Robinson was 247cm, the Peter Campbell Physio 9th was Keith Britton at 165cm, the SeaFire 10th went to Craig Erskine 162cm, the Yamba Barber Shop 12th was of course  Robert Gallagher with his Ace and the SeaFire 17th went to Garry Downes at 10m.

Balls went to 33 with 16 on the back.

Podbereski back to form

Well it didn’t take long but the most consistent player in the club is back to his old self, returning from surgery Alex Podbereski has only been back a couple of weeks and already he is back in the winner’s circle.

Alex returned a great 41 pts giving him the win in A Grade from Col Lindsay 38pts on a c/b from Graham Kulmar.

Jamie Anderson had the score of the day returning 42pts giving him the win in B grade from Ray Robinson 38pts on a c/b from Sunny Bill Williams.

In C Grade Peter Sweetman was the winner with 41pts from Mychael Mickelburgh 40pts and 3rd went to Harold Roberts with 38pts.

Nearest to the Pins were; On the John Wright Pro Shop 3rd Dan Nikas 150cm, the Peter Campbell Physio was Don Schlussler at 190cm, the SeaFire 10th was Alex Podbereski 57cm, the SeaFire 12th was Greg LaForest 52cm, the Bean Scene 17th went to Tim Seivers at 262cm and the 2nd shot 17th was Lary Dorman at 40cm.

Balls went to 36 with 17pts on the back 9.

Volkswagon Scramble

 Eighty eight players contested Yamba’s first ever Volkswagon Scramble, with the new sponsors taking over from Holden this popular event keeps getting stronger and playing in groups of honest 8’s meant that there was a fair bit of friendly banter between teams.

The winning team returned 57.625 nett consisting of Paul Kirkland, John Newton, Justin Stockham and Nick Hunter from Ballina. 2nd went to another Ballina team with Nathan Mills, Ben Gatewood, Sam Miles and Todd Hordern with 57.750 nett and 3rd with 58 nett was the team of Mike Grills, Greg Cowan, Steve and Tracey Simpson.

Nearest to the pins were; Dan Kelly on the 3rd 432cm, the 9th was Simon Loadsman 219cm, 10th was Kash Robinson 877cm, Dean Moore won the 12th at 110cm and Greg Starr was 290cm on the 17th.

Chris Durrington