Forty five points the norm at Yamba

As usual, Green renovations this time of year equals high scores, and last Thursday again was no different with 137 players contesting the mid week Stableford competition.
A Grade winner went to Geoff Flett with a miserly 38pts, 2nd went to Richard Beresford 37pts and 3rd was the hardest worker in the club David Miles with 36pts on a count back.
A Reserve winner was Garry Payne with a great 43pt round from Andy Wilson 40pts on a count back from Brian Scanlon 40pts.
Now this is where the scoring improves, as we all know that when the Greens are like this, you just have to hit them and hit them hard and they should go in. B Grade winner with a massive 45pts went to Kevin Molloy, 2nd went to Bruce Petith with 42pts and 3rd was Graham Cross from Dunheved with 40pts on a count back.
C Grade saw another 45pt round this time by Peter White, 2nd went to Ray Stevens 40pts and 3rd was Barry Hall 38pts.
NTPs were: John McNamara on the SeaFire 3rd at 125cm, the Peter Campbell 9th was Andy King 228cm, the SeaFire 10th saw Mick Mickelburgh at a lousy 1 cm from the hole, the 12th Yamba Barber shop was Gerry Ray at 140cm, the SeaFire 17th went to Garry Payne 264cm.
Balls for the day were given to 36pts with 17 on the back 9.
Dewar holes out on Saturday
Saturday’s field only had 84 golfers contesting the Stableford which changed the grades to 3.
A Grade winner was Graham Edwards with a fantastic score of 44pts with 78 off the stick, 2nd went to Scott Stratford with 43pts and 3rd AGAIN was David Miles with 42pts on a count back.
Gus Young was the winner in B Grade with 40pts from Ted Davis 38 and 3rd went to Pete Tonkin with 36pts on a count back.
C Grade saw Larry McKenzie win with 42pts from Ross Wilson 41pts on a count back from Tony Fisher 41pts for 3rd.
Big John Maguire has taken out the much converted “Bob Morris” Trophy for aggregate score during the year for medal rounds with an average of 72.5. It is also noted that John didn’t receive a medal during that period which made him bridesmaid many times throughout the year.
Nearest to the pins were won by; Ken Dewar who holed out on the John Wright Pro shop 3rd, he also took out the Peter Campbell Physio 9th at 136cm, the SeaFire 10th was Andy Wilson at 80cm, the SeaFire 12th was Rowdy Niland at 127cm, the 17th Bean Scene hole went to Greg Starr at 150cm and the 2nd shot 17th SeaFire hole was Jackson Daley at 12cm.
Balls for the day went to 36 with 21pts on the back 9.
Sunday Mixed
Thirty six players played the 2BBB Stableford with the winners returning 45pts in the team of sue Madden and Darrell Horsey, 2nd went to the team of Margaret Solomon and Ron Jeffrey with 43pts and 3rd was Graham and Meg Kulmar with 42pts on a count back.
NTPs: on the SeaFire Steak and Seafood 3rd Chook Henwood and Janine Zietsch, the Kahbu Hair 9th went to Bruce Lulham and Janine Zietsch, the 10th Block café Hole was Bruce Lulham and Sue Madden, the 12th Sassafras Pizza and Pasta hole went to Bruce Petith and Jeannie Doolan. Balls for the day were given out to 40pts on a count back.
Chris Durrington