ABOVE: Ex-President, Mary Fiedler was farewelled recently prior to returning to live in Melbourne.

Farewell to one of our best

ABOVE: Ex-President, Mary Fiedler was farewelled recently prior to returning to live in Melbourne.
ABOVE: Ex-President, Mary Fiedler was farewelled recently prior to returning to live in Melbourne.


An esteemed Ex-President of YWBC, Mary Fielder was bid farewell on Thursday 22nd October, prior to her upcoming departure for Melbourne to be closer to her family. Mary was honoured at a luncheon, received many accolades and well wishes, and was presented with a beautiful bouquet.
Mary has been a long time member since migrating from Melbourne with her late husband, and has had many successes on the green. Mary has won titles both at Club and District levels, and in Pennant teams.
She has also been a very hard working member having very capably served as President and in a number of other roles at both at Club and District levels. Mary will be missed, but we wish her well in her new adventures.
On the green on 22nd, however, Mary and her team mates, Bev Shatte and Denise Burey were not quite so lucky, as they went down to Jen Ridgway, Gabby Freeman and Val Terry who were drawn as the Lucky Runners Up.
What a great job the selectors are doing, judging by the closeness of results in Social bowls. This is evidenced again when Lucky Rink winners on 22nd Faye Reeves, Roz Moore and Marj Thompson defeated the Consolation winners, Beryl Mills, Carol Casement and Joan Scadden by just one shot.
In other results H Atkinson/J Pryor also got up by one shot over P Conley/K Mason and B Nielsen/C Deveney/M Stone defeated G Hoskin/M Wall/B Briers.
Again on Tuesday 27th, it was again just one shot which separated Lucky Rink Winners, Colleen Beard, Beryl Mills and Monica Conlan from Robyn McPherson, Helen Atkinson and Isabel Neill. The lucky Runners Up winners, Jane Pearson and Chris Cole had a win over Bev Shatte and Judy Pryor.
As well, Kerryn Tyler, Sandy Owen and Judy Sinclair prevailed over Consolation winners, Sandra Dorman, Beryl Nielsen and Sonia Graham, and in other results M Sakac/D Burey combined to beat Helen Scott and Joan Scadden, R McKibbin/J Button downed J Miller/P Conley and after a draw and equal ends a toss of the coin meant M Durante/F Reeves and Gloria Davis won over K Schubert/G Hall and J Funnell.
With a good many members away, mainly at the State Playoffs (men’s and women’s) numbers were a little depleted on Thursday 29th, when the Lucky Rink winners draw meant Beryl Mills and Faye Reeves were in the money again, this time teaming up with Chris Cole to defeat Beryl Nielsen, Helen Atkinson and Monica Conlan.
The other games saw Maria Sakac/ Bev Shatte/Marj Thompson defeat Consolation winners Jill Miller/ Denise Collier/Isabel Neill and Colleen Beard/Ros Hippisley/Kaye Mason prevail over Colleen Beard/Marg Wall/Joan Scadden.
Members should check the board for information about the Nell Brown Shield day against Iluka, to be held this year at Yamba on Tuesday 10th. Teams are on the board, but all members playing bowls that day are asked to stay for lunch if possible, the sheet for which is on the board.
Wendy Ballantyne