Darrie Nightingale continues her domination

With fields averaging 60 players each day, the four Stroke rounds comprising the 2021 Yamba Ladies Championship were played in perfect weather over recent weeks.

Once again, Darrie Nightingale led the field throughout the duration of the competition to win Club Champion, a title she has won for the past three years. Darrie’s systematic and consistent approach to the game along with her humility, has earned her respect from her fellow lady members. Having taken up golf in 1976 after the birth of her son, Darrie quickly demonstrated her talent for the game, representing her country at the 1979 Pacific Games in Suva.

Leading A Grade in all four rounds, Darrie was a very worthy winner with a final score of 350. Gross runner up, Suzanne Scott, posted a final score of 367 as Darrie’s nearest rival. Kathy Parker was a deserved winner of the A Grade nett with a score of 298, just ahead of the nett runner up, Jeannie Doolan, who came in with a very credible score of 300.

In other grades, Glen Czarnota notched up consecutive B Grade Champion titles after lodging four strong rounds throughout the competition (410). Glen’s outer demeanour belies a steely resolve to get the job done and, when the pressure mounted, she was able to hold her nerve. Di Sigle was Glen’s closest competitor with a score of 415. The B Grade nett titles were decided on countback. With both ladies scoring 298, Denise Ginn was the eventual nett winner ahead of Gillian Holst. 

Ann Schuhmacher (442) also played consistent, steady golf, especially in the second half of the competition rounds to take out the 2021 C Grade Champion title ahead of Meg Kulmar (448). Once again, the nett competition was decided on countback and Fay Gimenez (320 c/b) was named C Grade nett winner ahead of Lynne Eke (320 c/b).

Sonya McLennan was named Nine-Hole Champion for 2021 with a score of 39 points after two solid rounds. Val Bofinger was the runner up with a score of 36pts.

Congratulations to the 2021 winners and runners up and many thanks go to the 43 ladies who participated over the duration of this year’s championship rounds.

Leigh Robertson

The Championship winning group. Image: Contributed.
Darrie Nightingale makes it four in a row at Yamba. Image: Contributed.
Sonya McLennan is the Nine-Hole Champion for 2021. Image: Contributed