Golf Club President Tony Moran, Jon Tain (Managing Director MI Organics, major sponsor), Chris Durrington (Golf Operations Manager YGC) and the winner Damien Jordan.

Damien Jordan wins M. I. Organics Yamba Pro Am

Saturday saw the course recovering from a huge deluge which left a veritable sea of water covering the fairways. A lot of work by ground staff and others, aided by a change in the weather, saw play commence on time on Saturday morning.

The damp conditions mattered little to the professionals with previous Yamba Open winner Damien Jordan, shooting an eight under par 64 to assume the lead BY two shots.

Conditions improved on Sunday with the course drying out a lot. However, strong wind added a new dimension of difficulty, and this saw scores a little higher. Damien scored a one under par round of 71 on Sunday and this enabled him to hold off a fast-finishing Matt McLean who was only a single shot back in second place. Jamie Hook was third with -6 and Gavin Fairfax, Sam Brazel and James Macklin shared fourth with -5.

President Tony Moran and Garrett Skinner (PGA Tournament Co-ordinator) awarding the Yamba Golf Club the QLD Tournament of the Year award for 2020.

Every single professional was extremely complimentary about Yamba Golf Course and offered their thanks and congratulations to the Pro-Am organiser, Chris Durrington and to all the staff of the club, both indoor and outdoor, who exceeded all expectations to present a course and clubhouse of the very highest standard.

In Saturday’s amateur Stableford event, Rob Hodson was the winner on a countback when he and Tom Littlechild both scored 40 points. Others in the rundown were: Anthony Padovan 39, Michael Shirlow 39, Ronnie Blakey 38, Peter Kelly 37 and Carl Wood 37.

Sunday winner was Todd Brewer with 41 points. Club President Tony Moran was second with 40 and he was followed by: Bruce Lulham 37, Dan Mullins 37, Ronnie Blakey 37, Robyn Hibberd 36 and Tony James 36.

M.I Organics Yamba Pro-Am winner Damien Jordan

Matt Sahlqvist midweek winner

178 golfers competed in the midweek Stableford at Yamba Golf & Country Club on Thursday and, visiting from Biloela, Matt Sahlqvist put together a great round of 45 points to easily win the A Grade voucher. Geoff Flett was runner up with 39 points on a countback from John Collins.

B Grade saw a win to the very consistent Stephen Lamb with another good score of 39 points Warren Hughes and Francois Merlot needed the countback to determine the minor placings when both scored 38 points.

42 points was scored by both Terry Hulm and Stuart McLennan in C Grade with Terry winning on a countback. In third place was Bruce Kilby with 40.

NTP sponsors were SeaFire Steak & Seafood, Peter Campbell Physiotherapy and Yamba Barber Shop. Nearest on the 3rd was Alan Syle 72cm, 9th Evan Rice 128cm, 10th Greg Wyllie 46cm, 12th Peter Brennan 88cm and 17th John Collins 178cm. The Pro Pin for A Grade was won by Rob Gallagher 1026cm. The Pro Pin for the rest of the field was not won. The ball rundown went to 34 with 17 on the back nine.

David Miles