Latest News

CRDWBA 2017 pennant presentation

Grade 2: Yamba Helen Atkinson, Robyn McPherson, Chris Cole, Kaye Mason, Catherine Aitchison, Wynne Bell, Joan Scadden and Wendy Ballantine, manager Raelene McKibbin.

The Clarence River District Women’s Bowling Association held its annual pennant presentation at the Grafton District Services Club on Tuesday May 4 with 90 members from the seven member clubs and Clarence River District paying tribute to their club’s representatives.
This year’s pennant season was prolonged by several washed out rounds having to be played at the end of the season to reach a result with the presentation day having to be delayed by three weeks
Grade 2 pennants went to Yamba WBC on 28 points with runner up South Grafton WBC 25 points.
Grade 3 went to the Yamba White team on 11 points with runner up South Grafton on 9 points.
Grade 4 was a closely fought competition with just five points separating the top four teams with Maclean on 25 points narrowly defeating Red Rock Corindi on 24.5.

Grade 3: Yamba WBC Val Terry, Barbara Cross, Lorraine Asbury, Gloria Davis, Marj Thomson, and manager Gwen Hosking with president Robyn McPherson. Absent Kerrie Pedder, Margaret Abbott and Sue Lindsay.

Grafton District Services president Dawn Lawson welcomed everyone and wished the a pleasant and enjoyable day before handing the club and its facilities over to district president Alma Bowling. Ms Bowling in turn welcomed all and invited them to morning tea, after which Lyn Olsson, match committee, read the cards and the ladies converged on the greens for a morning of friendly rivalry and fun before returning to the auditorium for lunch and the presentation of pennant flags and badges.
Raffle prizes and 100 club winners were duly drawn and presented.
President Alma then congratulated the ladies on their achievements before presenting the clubs with their flags and certificates and the team members with their badges, ably assisted by vice presidents Carol Newman and Jen Axon.

Grade 4: Maclean WBC Evelyn Triffett, Carol Power, Merle Ryan, Ivy Whitney and Virginia Nicholson and manager Daphne Robson with vice president Kerrie Hudson. Absent Margaret Stallard, Gwen Parsons and Lorraine Connor. Images: Contributed.

Congratulations to these three teams who will now play in the Regional Play Offs to be held in The Tweed Byron District at Kingscliff Bowling Club
Presentations over the winning teams were drawn and presented.
Winning Team: M. Comboy, W. Bell, R. Granger and L. Asbury.
Lucky Losers: J. Haywood, G. Davis, P. Lollback and V. Terry.
President Alma then thanked her committee for all their hard work, especially secretary Lorraine Demmery, in making this day a success. She also thanked everyone for their attendance and wished them a safe journey home before handing the club back to president Dawn.
Shirley Woodward