Yamba club members on Australia Day. Image: Contributed

Australia Day bowls at Yamba Bowling Club

Whilst there was only a small field for our men’s Australia Day bowls it was good to see players getting into the spirit of Aussie Day by dressing up in their red and white and blue or green and gold colours.

There was also plenty of good-natured Aussie banter heard, along with the sound of the well-versed cry of ‘Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi’ echoing across the greens.

We will be playing our season starting Presidents Cup event on Saturday February 12 with the presidents and bowls coordinators selected teams now posted on the notice board.

This challenging event was instigated for the first time in 2021 and proved a big success, so it will be an annual event in the future with teams made up of both ladies and men’s bowlers

Yamba bowlers, men and ladies, please check the teams on the notice board outside the bowls office and inform Peter Forrester if you have been selected but are unavailable to play.

On the championship front, our first event for the year is the men’s major fours commencing on Sunday February 13 with the first round starting at 9am. The second round will also be played in the afternoon on the same day. Nominations for the fours close today Wednesday February 2, including payment of the nomination fee of forty dollars per team to be paid at the cash box by 4.30pm that day. The nomination sheet for this event has been posted on the notice board for the last few weeks.

The next men’s championship set down is the Minor Triples which will be played on Thursday evenings commencing on March 3. Depending on the number of entries each round from that point on, it will be played on a Thursday evening until it reaches a finale. The nomination sheet for the minor triples has been placed on the notification board.

Social bowls results

Wednesday January 19: winners – John Mckenna & Graham Meany; runners up – Steve Cassidy & Peter Forrester; Encouragement – Rod Berry & Col Lindsay.

Friday January 21: winners – Nev Beck & Don Lee (pairs game); runners up – Allan Marr, Chris Muldoon & Graham Meany; Encouragement – Kev Corcoran, Phil Maddison & Greg Johnson.

Friday January 28: winners – Steve Farrar, Alan Marr & Mark Bilton; runners up – Kev Corcoran, Brian Pennell & Jake McHutchison; Encouragement – Nev Beck, Chris Muldoon & Norm Anderson.

Peter Forrester