Latest News

39 was a popular golf score at Yamba

It was a very warm day at Yamba Golf and Country Club when 146 golfers competed in the midweek Stableford event.
Scoring was not all that easy but three players returned great scores of 39 points to win their respective grades. In A Grade, Chris Holst won with 39 points from Greg Wyllie and David Miles who scored 38 each and were separated by countback. AR Grade saw Ken Dewar also win with 39 points followed by Greg LaForest and Peter Hyslop who both returned 38 points and visited the c/b. Kevin Molloy was the third of the 39 point scores when he won B Grade from John Parsonage (37) and Bruce Douglass (35) while in C Grade Michael Rosnell took the winner’s voucher on from John Lloyd on a c/b with 37 points. Ken Lillie was third with 36 points. NTP’S were sponsored by SeaFire Steak & Seafood, Peter Campbell Physio and Yamba Barber Shop. On the 3rd Geoff Flett was closest at 100cm, 9th Dave Cruden 178cm, 10th Lester Englsih 127cm, 12th Robb Robertson 122 and 17th Gus Young 332cm. The ball rundown went to 33 with 18 on the back.
Barry Fisher wins Palm Meadows trip
Palm Meadows Golf Resort donated the major trophy for the Saturday’s Stableford Round and a good field of 152 golfers tried their best to be successful. A very cool wind made conditions just a little difficult but Barry Fisher and Glenn Scarffe showed their very best form to each score 43 points. Barry narrowly won the visit to the countback and we wish him an enjoyable trip. In 3rd place was Angus McDouall (Armidale) with 40 points. Des Hall returned to the winner’s list when he won AR Grade with 37 points from Andrew Crawford (Walcha) and Rod Darlberg on 36. One of the early morning golfers, Ted Davis, was the B Grade winner with 37 points followed by Graeme Coates (Cerberus) and Steven Henwood with 36 each. Ken Collins won C Grade with 38 points and the minor places were filled by Andrew McLennan and Tony Moran. Both with 36. John Wright Pro Shop, Peter Campbell Physiotherapist, SeaFire Steak & Seafood and Bean Scene were NTP trophy donners. Col Lindsay was nearest on the 3rd 284cm, 9th Greg James (Nudgee) 212cm, 10th Ron McLaughlin (Waratah) 340cm, 12th Lester English 36cm, 17th Steve Hodgson 262 and 2nd shot to 17, Perry Robinson 156. Ball winners needed 33 points with 16 on the back.