Images by: Ethan Smith

2020 NSW School Titles finishes with a bang at Coffs Harbour

Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School) and Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High School) have taken out the Under-19 NSW Schools Titles in punchy one-to-two-foot conditions on what was the final day in the Woolworths NSW Junior Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth.
Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School) appeared to follow the lead of fellow Avoca local and 2020 Under-18 NSW Champion Lennox Chell, when he took top honours in the Under-19 Boys NSW Schools Titles. Stapleton shone in the windy peaks, finding a handful of punchy corners that allowed for a multitude of clean and precise backhand snaps. Stapleton finished the final with a respectable 13.53 two-wave heat total to claim the win by a slim 0.16 margin ahead of fellow goofy-footer Saxon Reber (NBSC Balgowlah).
Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High) put on an impressive display of surfing in the Under-19 Girls to claim the victory. The northern beaches natural-footer linked together a chain of impressive turns and carves to notch up a respectable 12.60 two-wave total and ensure an NSW returned to Sydney’s northern beaches. This Under-19 Girls final is Leigh-Jones’ second final in three days, having claimed the runner-up position in the Under-18 Girls state title division on Monday.

All finals results can be seen below.

See all event results here

The event will see some of NSW’s best junior surfers competing for a coveted state title when the event kicks off from the 5th – 12th August 2020.
Unlike previous years, where all qualifiers for the Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth were determined by eight individual regional titles, the 2020 event will invite all junior competitors to enter in their respective age divisions.
The last two days of the event comprised of the NSW School Surfing Titles.
2020 was the tenth year Surfing NSW combined the NSW School Surfing Titles into the event.
Competitors will be vying for an NSW Junior Title and in turn, earn their position into the upcoming 2020 Australian Junior Surfing Titles, which will take place in Queensland at the end of the year.
Former competitors in the NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth include current World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) surfers Owen, Mikey and Tyler Wright, Sally Fitzgibbons, Matt Wilkinson, Wade Carmichael and Connor O’Leary.
The Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth adhered to strict COVID-19 policies and regulations outlined by the NSW Government.
All Surfing NSW events are in line with the current NSW public health order and we work with Sport NSW and NSW Office of Sport on all plans. Surfing NSW have developed a COVID safety plan to ensure the safety of all staff, participants and local stakeholders.
Please click here for our regularly updated Surfing NSW events COVID safety plan.
For further information on our protocols and guidelines please refer to the and Office of Sport website here.
The Woolworths NSW Junior Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth will be proudly supported by Woolworths, Ocean and Earth, Coffs Harbour City Council, Mothernest, Reflections Holiday Park and Surfing NSW.

Under-19 Boys

1 – Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School)
2 – Saxon Reber (NBSC Balgowlah)
3 – Jarvis Earle (Cronulla High School)
4 – Sunny Whitby-Otto (Newcastle High School)
Under-19 Girls

1 – Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High)
2 – Amelie Bourke (St. Francis Xavier)
3 – Kyla Whitfield (Narrabeen Sports High)
4 – Lily Macdonald (NBSC Freshwater)